top of page

5 Tips for traveling with two kids...solo!

This past Christmas,my family traveled to Chicago to visit family. Having a dog and cat, trying to get them both boarded during the holiday season was costly, and very hard to find. So my husband decided he would drive up (from the Gulf Coast) with our two pets. This meant that I would be flying with our two kids (age 5 and 2) by myself. I was terrified! Would my kids stay in the security screening line? How many meltdowns would I need to endour (from my kids, or myself)? Would we actually make it to our destination in one piece, with all of our bags?

It was a scary thought traveling through airports, with a layover, outnumbered by two little humans. But I needed to do it. So I needed to start preparing. Where to begin?

First thing's first, when you are searching for flights, and have a layover, (1) give yourself enough time inbetween flights and (2) make sure each child has their own seat (and bring carseat for the littler kids)

Our layover was in Atlanta, and since I've flown through there a few times by myself before, I know how big this airport is and how long it can take to get from one terminal to another. Our first layover was tight at an hour, and our layover on the way home was 3 hours. I would recommend at least 2 hours if you can, just in case your first flight is delayed. Most airlines will let you have your child under 2 years old as a "lap child". While it may seem economical, if your child gets restless on the airplane and every seat is taken, you will be so stressed out and cramped by the end of the flight, not to mention it is a lot safer in case of turbulence before, during and at landing of the flight.

Anxiously waiting for the airplane to arrive.

Then,

(3) I made a checklist.

Especially when traveling with children, this is important! Even if it seems like there is no way you could possibly forget diapers for your child, or a charger for your cellphone- write it down anyway! There is nothing worse than being in an airport with a baby/toddler still in diapers (or in potty training stage), and realizing you forgot extra diapers and wipes in your carry-on, and then being delayed hours for a layover and you have no way to charge your phone.

A week or two before travel time, I made a list of things myself and the kids needed in our carry-on bags. (Don't forget to check with your airline for rules and restrictions regarding carry-ons). My checklist looked something like this:

DON"T FORGET! (I always write that at the top of lists, just in case I'm not sure what the particular list is for, haha)

-backpacks for each kid

-change of clothes for everyone

-snacks

-new games

-empty sippy cup

- wipes/ diapers

- travel size hand sanitizer

- purse/carry on bag for myself

- phone/ charger

-children's and regular tylenol

-stroller

In each kid's backpack, besides the wipes and diapers for my younger son, I included a new coloring book (or travel activity kit). their favorite stuffed animal, applesauce pouches, cheese sticks and leappad. I also put an empty sippy cup in each backpack to fill with water once we got through security. In my purse/carry-on, I also stashed some suckers and fruit snacks, for takeoff and landing, and if an impending meltdown was about to occur.

I have seen many different opinions regarding using strollers in the airport, but from my perspective, they are well worth it. I flew with Delta Airlines, and they were more than accomidating with checking the stroller at the gate, and having it ready outside the plane when we landed. Also, it is so much easier to put all of the carry on bags in the basket under the stroller than trying to carry everything on your back!

Next, (4) arrive at the airport EARLY!

I was really worried about making it through security with two kids that I didn't want to have to rush as well. It is so much easier to get there a bit earlier and be ready at the gate to preboard. I also checked in to my flight online the day before takeoff, which saved me from standing in the check in line.

Last, but not least- (5) ask for help if you need it!

This was probably one of the biggest things I needed to remember, because I typically don't like asking for help. But that's what the airport workers and stweards/stewardesses are there for. When we landed in Chicago, my two year old fell asleep, so the steward actually helped with our carry on bags, and even held my son so I could open the stroller and put him in it.

Overall, I had a really great experience with my first solo trip with my kids. Using these tips I gave, you can also have a stress free traveling experience! Let me know in the comments if you have any other tips!

**And if you have a long layover in Atlanta, I suggest walking instead of taking the train through some of the concourses, we found a really neat walkway that had lit up leaves on the ceiling, and projections of rain drops falling on the ground!

-

-

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page